Huckleberry Chai Tea, Girl Talk, and Mentoring

Mentoring

 

If you don’t know who Dr. Jeff Myers is, you’re really missing out on some of the most valuable material available to the human race. I have been familiar with him for about 3 or 4 years now and am taking the last class in a three-class series on leadership created with CollegePlus students in mind (although it is open to anyone). As part of my homework, I am required to find a mentor and a “mentee” (or someone to mentor) and I just had my mentee meeting this morning. I am extremely excited to see what happens with that. This girl that I’m mentoring has a bright spirit and is extremely creative. I’m super duper excited to just have girl talk with her and invest in her life!

Mentoring

 

I introduced her to my favorite coffee and tea place ever called Pleasant Blends. If you live in Spokane and haven’t been to Pleasant Blends, do yourself a favor and go there! Best drinks, best atmosphere, best family-run business, I just love it. I ended up buying a little tea infuser and some spring-ey tea that Lindsey and I both agreed smells “Fresh.” I’m super excited to take it back to L.A. with me and enjoy the fresh tea. Literally there is a wall packed with different kinds of coffee and tea.

Mentoring

 

I was pretty nervous about this whole idea of mentoring at first. I’m eighteen. I’m afraid that somehow it’s not right for me to be acting like I know stuff. At first, I just decided I would find a friend to practice on and never move past the required meetings. But then I had another spontaneous decision to ask Lindsey’s mom if I could formally mentor her. I’ve been teaching her and her sister piano for the past couple of months and Lindsey and I connected. Plus, I see so much potential in Lindsey. And, on top of that, I see a lot of similarities between the two of us. All that to say, the first official meeting went so well! No, it wasn’t structured. We just talked about life and both of us shared stories spanning from serious conversations with friends to hilarious disciplinary tactics our parents use.

I’m reading a book called Cultivate by Dr. Jeff Myers and a few other people. If you are interested in learning more about mentoring, I would highly recommend reading this book. It takes the scary out of mentoring by giving you specific types of questions to ask and ways to approach potential issues, how to direct conversations, and even how to choose someone to mentor based on your gifts and calling.

I hope your Saturday is going fantastically and if you have any questions or stories having to do with mentoring, please comment below!

LOVE;

{/\ubry}

Facebook        Instagram        Twitter        Pinterest        Google +

Leave a Reply

