FEB 18// BEFORE I DIE

What is one thing you’d like to do before you die?

DAY 049 | twothousandfourteen.wordpress.com // Before I die...

I stumbled upon this (haha haha, no really) and had to share for Tuesday (on which I share something that another person has created).

Candy Chang went through a period of depression after a loved one passed away. As she emerged from her depressed state, she decided to conduct an experiment. After obtaining permission to paint on the side of an abandoned building, she did this:

Before I Die

And this:

Before I Die

And other people did this:

Before I Die

These community things always make me so excited to be human. I’ve got to say, being able to read these short little phrases all in different colors and different handwritings and wondering what the stories are is one of the most invigorating things we could experience. It’s an opportunity for us to recognize and celebrate our diversity, our stories, our backgrounds, our pain, our happiness, and our humanity.

Seriously. Can we do this? Please?

To read more about Candy Chang’s story and to see more pictures of the original display (in New Orleans, or NOLA to natives [I’m always confused]) and of other towns that displayed this as well, click here.

Thanks for reading!

Follow, like, and share!

Facebook        Instagram        Twitter        Pinterest        Google +        Tumblr

LOVE;

{/\ubry}

4 comments

    1. Hmmm, let’s see. There are so many things I want to do, but I think my top right now is to move to as many big cities in the U.S. (and possibly Europe) as possible and live in each one for 3 months to a year. What do you want to do before you die??

      Like

      1. Um, do that with you, obviously.

        Okay, so only thing I don’t like about the design, which I just realized, is that it isn’t easy to access old posts. You have to scroll through from most recent down. Is there any way to turn on the archives sidebar? Unless I’m just missing something.

        Like

Leave a Reply

