FEB 16// I’M NOT EXACTLY SURE WHAT TO CALL THIS POST

Hi guys! How’s it going? I think I maybe finally found energy again! (Knock on wood.)

DAY 047 | twothousandfourteen.wordpress.com // I'M NOT EXACTLY SURE WHAT TO CALL THIS POST

A couple things:

first. Thanks for bearing with me this week. Crappy photos, crappy blog posts, crappy attitude, I had it all. It was a tough week, but I was feeling sorry for myself and that didn’t help. I finally got some school done, read my Bible, hung out with some awesome chicks, and slept in and I’m feeling a whole freaking lot better. Also, I realized what was going on with my camera. Apparently my ISO was WAY up, hence the grainy grossness in all of my recent pictures. Another thing that has got me back feeling motivated is…

second. I made a blog schedule! I think it will give me something solid to fall back on, a cut-and-dry, write-in-advance post schedule, and better guidelines which will help with ideas that actually make sense. Sooo, here it is:

SUNDAY: Philosophy related. You know, what I think about the world. As Kendra’s mom put it today, “Aubry has an opinion on something? This is new!”

MONDAY: Motivational related or Music reviews. No. I honestly did not just put those words on Monday just because they start with “M”. Seriously, I promise. It just…happened.

TUESDAY: Outside content sharing. I don’t want me to be the only thing you see. I’m not that smart. I really want to share with you some other designers, artists, and content creators that I come across.

WEDNESDAY: Beauty and fashion related. If you’re a guy and following my blog, just skip Wednesdays. Unless you really like hearing about girls’ skincare routines. In which case, you’re weird.

THURSDAY: School and learning related. My full-time job is being a student and the way that I am doing college has taught me a whole lot about learning. On Thursdays, I’ll share with you some of the best tips and tricks I’ve learned from my accelerated pace of school.

FRIDAY: TGIF. On which I will literally just make pictures of “TGIF”. Or if I’m feeling extra ambitious, write something about how much I love the end of the week.

SATURDAY: Miscellaneous. Probably mostly just a “Look Back at my Week” or something.

So yeah, there’s that. I’m extremely excited about the possibilities this offers me. Never underestimate the power of a list. Dude, I should make a graphic of that.

last thing. Since Sunday is actually supposed to be more Philosophy related than this has been, I’m going to leave with this quick…thing (because it’s 1:21 AM and I can’t think of a better word).

A week from Tuesday, I leave to go to San Antonio, TX for three days (eep!) where I will be meeting with six other students and three (plus) employees from CollegePlus (if you don’t know what CollegePlus is, read my posts about it here and here). I’ll get to see the CollegePlus offices, meet more of the CollegePlus staff, and brainstorm with other students on how to build the student community as well as begin planning for a week-long event happening in the fall. Guys, I am so freaking excited, you have no idea. Anyways, here’s the point. At some point this week, I need to plan out a seven-minute presentation on anything to give to the group. I don’t want it to be cliche, you know? But I also want it to be something I already think and talk about a lot so that I don’t have to spend very much time preparing (I’m busy, okay?). Here are my options:

one. Social Media marketing, the potential it holds for business in the coming months and years, and how to utilize specific social media platforms (i.e. Facebook [yuck], Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, etc.). I would go into the ins and outs of why and how businesses should be using social media, which target audiences can be reached most effectively with specific social medias, and the fascinating widespread use of social media for marketing (for example, hashtags in commercials).

two. The Free Business Model. Now, this is just fascinating to me. If you’re not familiar with what this is, basically it is a service offered to an audience for free while the audience is advertised to by other companies. This is most common in Social Media (i.e. YouTube or blogging), Smartphone apps, and online music players like Pandora or Spotify. The earliest form of this that I know of is the Radio. We don’t have to pay to use the Radio; stations are paid by companies who advertise with them. Personally, I think this Business Model is just brilliant. You get happy customers because they don’t have to pay for anything and you get money from businesses who are way less smarter than you.

three. The Non-Profit Business Model. The dominant business in this category is TOMS and I am literally their biggest fan. The idea is you run a business just like any other business. But somehow you incorporate helping other people in need. You don’t just donate money, it goes further than that. One example is KrochetKids (another business I’m a big fan of) who teaches women in Uganda how to make fashion items (primarily hats) and sells them to people in the U.S. KrochetKids has a product that they are marketing and selling but they are providing a skill and a steady income to people who would have almost no chance for it otherwise. One of my life goals is to start a business and I know that I want my business to fit in this category regardless. Not only do I think it is morally important and a valuable service I can give my fellow humans, but from a business perspective, it actually, in many ways, equals success (if executed correctly). People are searching for it nowadays. If a customer finds out that a business does the community a service, that customer is much more likely to continue doing business with that company. And think about it. When TOMS sells a pair of shoes, they actually sell two, AND people tell their friends about the amazing service TOMS is doing the world which then is free publicity. Look at that, ladies and gentlemen. Brilliant.

Okay, so I need your help. Which option do you think I should present on? I’ll be posting a written version of my presentation on the blog, so what would you like to see posted? I’d absolutely LOVE to hear your thoughts and opinions about any of these options and let me know which is most interesting to you!

Thanks for reading! I love you all!

Make sure to follow me on all my social media to stay updated!

Facebook        Instagram        Twitter        Pinterest        Google +        Tumblr

LOVE;

{/\ubry}

Leave a Reply

